Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

At my meet-up with my lovely fellow Melbournian Youtube beauty gurus – Roseanne, Karla, Alee, Daniel and Angela – we thought it would be heaps of fun to do a special Halloween makeup collaboration together. We threw around many creative ideas that night but in the end, we decided on a ‘Alice in Wonderland’ theme where each of us will do a makeup tutorial on one of the main characters.

I chose to be the Cheshire Cat. He was one of my favourite characters from the 1951 Disney ‘Alice in Wonderland’ movie because he was so funny but creepy and weird at the same time.

I based my look off this film version 🙂

The collaboration starts with my Cheshire Cat video and the story continues with Roseanne’s Red Queen, Karla’s White Queen, Alee’s White Rabbit, Daniel’s Mad Hatter and finally ending with Angela’s Alice.

HUGE kudos to Roseanne for writing up the wonderful script and for the amazing editing of the intros and the outros – thank you!

MAKEUP

I filmed my actual transformation tutorial about a week after filming our collaboration so the makeup is slightly different.

The photo on the right left was on the day of the collaboration and as you can see, my makeup was lighter and I had thick black brows. I improved upon this look for my actual tutorial and I think it looks so much better without the black brows!

I used face-paint only to paint on the mouth, everything else is just regular makeup! I have to admit it was a little difficult to make the eyeshadow colours show up well on the face, the key is to build the colour and to use a dense blending brush.


Here are the usual photos I put at the end of my tutorials, I didn’t include them this time because we had a set video style for this collaboration.

COSTUME

The Cheshire Cat costume began as a great dilemma for me. As many of you guys know from my previous costume makeup/transformation tutorials, I prefer putting together my own costumes instead of buying a pre-made one, as it is more unique and fun. But for this look, I didn’t have anything in my wardrobe that was even close to resembling the Cheshire Cat!

So my first thought was to purchase a costume online. I looked on eBay and other online costume stores and saw that the majority of Cheshire Cat costumes consisted of striped dresses that were rather skimpy. They were way too sexy for my liking as I wanted this to be more of a traditional costume look.

Eventually I did find some more suitable costumes which was basically a jumpsuit with some furry paws attached. These were sold for at least $50USD (excluding shipping) and they all came from the US which meant shipping would take quite a while. I really didn’t want to pay this much money for a costume I was only going to wear for a one-off makeup tutorial.

However, one day I was going through my wardrobe and I came across a pair of purple leggings which I never wore and I had a total light-bulb moment. If I could find a matching top and glue strips of pink ribbon to it, I’d have myself a Cheshire Cat costume!

I’m not much of a DIY person, but I decided to give it a go 🙂


To start off, I have my purple leggings and a purple long sleeved top, which are both from Supre. I also got some rolls of hot pink ribbon from The Reject Shop to use as the stripes on the Cheshire Cat. For the tools, you need some scissors, a hot glue gun and some spare sticks of glue.

I then cut off bits of the ribbon and used the hot glue gun to glue them evenly across the leggings and the top. I only glued them to the front of the leggings and the top to save time and effort but you can choose to glue them across the back too if you want.

Make sure you put some newspaper underneath to avoid getting the glue on the floor and remember to always be careful when using a hot glue gun because the glue can get very hot! Do ask your parents to help you if you are very young.


I also bought this funky-coloured, furry material from Spotlight because the colour and the pattern immediately reminded me of the Cheshire Cat. This cost $20 a meter (I bought half a meter) – who knew material can be so expensive?!?

I cut off bits of this material and glued it around the end of my sleeves and the bottom of my leggings to make it look like cat paws. I also glued a strip to the bottom of my top and used some to wrap around my neck as a ‘furry collar’.

And lastly, for my ears, I bought a pair of black cat ears from Spotlight. I then cut out the shape of the ears from the furry material and stuck them on using strips of Hollywood tape.

I paired this with a bright pink afro wig which I’ve had around for ages.

And TADAAA!! This is my completed Cheshire Cat costume! I am very proud of my DIY effort as I am usually not a very crafty person 😛

I think this would definitely make a unique and eye-catching costume for Halloween!

BEHIND THE SCENES

We decided to film the collaboration at my house, so everyone brought their costumes and makeup over to get ready. We all got ready in my room and the whole process took quite a while – we ended up with bags, makeup, wigs and accessories all over the floor!

Poor Gaetano (Daniel’s partner) had to sit around and watch us get ready 😛

Initially, we planned to film the collaboration outdoors in my backyard. However, it rained that day and the next best thing was to film it in my dining room using my large dining room table.

I already bought heaps of cupcakes and cookies from the supermarket, as well as cupcakes which my little sister kindly baked for me. Everyone else also contributed with their own cupcakes and cookies so we ended up with heaps and heaps of food!

So we conjured the perfect Alice in Wonderland tea party table by decorating it with cupcakes, cookies (with our customised writing lol!), tea pots, tea cups, coloured plates and napkins and random straws. I am totally impressed with our creative effort!



And these are just some behind-the-scenes photos during our collaboration shoot. I didn’t take many photos because we ended up having to use my camera to film as well. Although we only had a few short scenes to film, it took several hours because it was often difficult to get the lighting and angles right and we had SO many bloopers! We also couldn’t help nibbling on the yummy food while filming lol! Overall it was an exhausting but fun experience 😀






And these are just some group photos of us, although we are mucking around in most of them 😛

Aren’t we cute???

OFFICIAL PHOTOS

And just finishing off this post with our official character photos and a ‘movie-poster’ group photo of us I attempted in Photoshop 😛

Although it took alot of time and effort, I had SO much fun with this whole collaboration and am so proud that we managed to pull this off! A 6-way makeup collaboration is almost unheard of on Youtube so well done guys! ^___^

I hope you all enjoyed watching our makeup tutorials and had fun journeying through our ‘Alice in Wonderland’ story 🙂

– Miss Pixie Lulu