Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Click here to watch my Emo Scenester Punk Makeup Tutorial

I actually wore this exact same makeup and costume to my friend’s emo themed birthday party a couple of years ago and have been itching to film this tutorial! That’s the problem with me – too many ideas and too little time (and a little too lazy at times!)

Image

Image

This look is fierce, but also cute at the same time. Key characteristics are a pale, matte face, light brows and nude lips. The main focus of the makeup is on the dramatic eyes. The bright pink eyeshadow provides contrast to the heavy black liner, and that is also what adds the ‘cute’ feel. The glitter liner on the lower lashline and the use of both top and bottom false eyelashes helps to draw attention to the eyes.

The overall look is influenced by different cultures and styles. including emo, scene, punk and J-Pop/J-Rock. I’ll briefly talk about each below.

Image

EMO

Influences – dark eye makeup, dark mullet hairstyle and nude lips

Image

SCENE

Influences – Bright hair streaks, cute hair and jewellery

Image

PUNK

Influences – Black printed singlet, tartan skirt and dark nails

Image

J-POP/J-ROCK

Influences – this is more of an overall feel than a direct influence

Image

When I attended my friend’s emo themed birthday, my good friend Allan (who also happens to be a hair whiz) turned my usually flat, straight hair into an amazing mullet. But I didn’t have Allan’s magic hair skills when I filmed the tutorial, so at first I was at a loss as to how to get the mullet hairstyle.

Then I had a lightbulb moment – ‘fake it until you make it’. I dug out the short black wig that I used to film my Harry Potter tutorial and Ga-in Irreversible tutorial and popped it over my long black hair and turned it into an instant mullet! I admit I was very proud of myself.

I also clipped a neon pink hair extension to one side of my hair – totally matches my eye makeup!

Image

Luckily I managed to find my full outfit and all the accessories that I worn to my friend’s birthday all those years ago (didn’t think it would happen as I lose things all the time!)

Image

And tadaa! Here my full costume! My singlet and skirt are both from Supre, while my all my hair accessories and jewellery were from Diva. Finished off with a pair of cute black and pink knee high socks and black Converse Chucks.

Image

This is a great look if you too, ever attend an emo themed party (I admit this is one of the weirder dress up themes my friends and I have had) I would LOVE to go to Japan and walk around wearing this makeup and outfit and totally fit in!

What do you think of this look? Are you a fan of emo/scene/punk culture? Let me know below!

– Miss Pixie Lulu

