Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last night I met up with 5 fellow Melbournian Youtube beauty gurus – AddictionToShopping (Angela), aleesang (Alee), allaboutdaniel (Daniel), karlacosmetica (Karla) and roseannetangrs (Roseanne)!

I decided to go for a neutral makeup look, with soft smokey brown eyes using my trusty Coastal Scents Warm Palette. I used ‘Thin Lizzy’ to contour my cheeks (they call it a professional powder but it’s pretty much a bronzer) and Revlon’s Colorburst Lipstick in ‘Soft Nude’ for the lips, finishing it off with a coat of Bloom’s Lipgloss in ‘Gypsy’.

Please don’t mind my unruly hair in the photo -____-

For the outfit, I wore a black tank top with a beige blazer from Forever New (a total bargain from DFO!). I paired my GASP jeans with my funky Tony Bianco leopard print wedge boots. Check out my mini mirror necklace from ‘Lovisa’, isn’t it the cutest thing ever? ^___^

I’m very into casual blazers at the moment – I think they instantly add sophistication to any outfit πŸ™‚

For the meetup, we first had dinner at ‘Meshiya’ (200 Lonsdale St
Melbourne), which is an authentic little Japanese restaurant near QV. It’s very cosy inside, and our booth was decorated with empty sake bottles – pretty cool!

Daniel also brought his boyfriend, Gaetano, so there were 7 of us in total. Even though it was the first time meeting each other, we all just clicked, the conversation flowed and there was zero level of awkwardness.

Alee described it as “catching up with old friends whom you haven’t seen for a long time”, and I agree! We’ve all watched each other on Youtube, and it is not surprising to find that in real-life, everyone is as bubbly and friendly as they are on camera πŸ™‚

For dinner, I ordered the Chef’s Special Bento, which came with chawanmushi and miso soup. For those who aren’t familiar with Japanese cuisine, chawanmushi is a savoury egg custard, customarily steamed in a tea cup. I love it for the silky smooth texture and the little bits of goodies (shrimps, unagi, enoki mushrooms etc) in the egg.

My bento box included some assorted sashimi, tempura prawns, yakitori (chicken skewers) and teriyaki beef, with a big bowl of rice on the side. The sashimi was very fresh and the beef was juicy and tender. I like bento boxes cos you get a little bit of everything and it still ends up being really filling!

After chatting for several hours (mostly about Youtuber and makeup lol), we migrated to the nearby Max Brenner for coffee and desserts. I had a latte and also shared a yummy chocolate brownie sundae with Roseanne. The sundae came with a small plate of crunchy chocolate balls (everyone agreed it looked like rabbit droppings!) and a bowl of melted chocolate. Just heavenly!

Interesting fact – I’m allergic to chocolate but I was naughty and still ate the dessert. But I’m ok as long as I don’t binge πŸ˜›

We took the opportunity to photowhore some more and also came up with the idea of a possible 6-way makeup collab on Youtube (crazy right?!). Many fantastic ideas were thrown around and I’m really excited to see how everything’s gonna develop. Let me just say that it’s going to be BIG, and hopefully in time for Halloween πŸ™‚

And just finishing off with 2 group photos πŸ˜€ I love the funny faces one, but spot the odd one out!

At dinner, we toasted to ‘the first of many more outings’ and I’m sure there will be many more. I had such a great time with everyone and I’m really looking forward to our exciting future collab together! Stay tuned πŸ˜‰

– Miss Pixie Lulu