Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is my last makeup tutorial for the year, featuring a glitzy smokey gold makeup look that is perfect to wear on New Years Eve!


You would expect to be taking lots of photos on New Years Eve, so it is important to wear a foundation which will look good with flash photography. That’s why I used my Revlon PhotoReady foundation paired with the translucent finisher.

This look is all about the eyes, with drama from the smokey eyeshadow and sparkle from the gold glitter. I used shimmery gold and metallic grey shades from my Coastal Scents 88 Warm Palette and Metal Mania Palette to create the smokey eyes, and then layered some gold cosmetic glitter on top. It is always important to make sure that the glitter is cosmetic grade and safe to use around the eyes.

Because we are currently in Summer in Australia, I wanted to give my face a sun-kissed look, so I contoured my cheeks with bronzer. But feel free to use blush instead if you are in Winter. And because we want all the attention to be on the glamourous eyes, I kept my lips understated with a nude lipstick and lipgloss.


I didn’t do much with my hair for this look; I simply sectioned off the middle, twisted it and pinned it at the back with bobby pins.

I paired this makeup look with a kimono-style, gold sequin dress from Bardot. I also wanted to compliment the smokiness of the makeup, so I wore a blue, grey and black jeweled bangle and a pair of clear drop earrings from Diva, and an over-sized jeweled ring. I finished off the look with a pair of patent black peep-toe heels from Tony Bianco.

Just finishing off this post with two close-up photos of the makeup look. I love how the makeup can look smokey at first, but it reveals the glitzy gold underneath when you blink 🙂

And finally, a HUGE thank you to each and every one of my amazing subscribers who has given me invaluable support over the past year – it really means the world to me!

I want to wish everyone a very Happy New Year, may 2012 bring you much happiness, luck, prosperity and good health!

Stay tuned for many exciting videos coming up in the new year!

– Miss Pixie Lulu